30 Day Shred vs. Insanity

    About a year and a half ago, as a new fitness challenge and something to do with my community of friends, I decided to do the workout video series Insanity.  (Pause so drama can build here.)  Man, it truly was insane!  I am used to working out very diligently, but this was just out of this world.  Looking back, I really am amazed that I made it through two rounds of the entire 2-month program.  My body became much stronger, faster, and more tone.  However, the impact and insane cardio was just honestly something I personally didn’t want as a lifestyle.  I’m a 3-4 times a week type of girl.  Medium impact, with medium cardio. 

So I took a few weeks off from Insanity (and loved every minute of it!)  Soon, however, I began wanting something more than my pre-Insanity workout, but less than the monster itself.  I wanted to maintain the new level of fitness I had achieved through Insanity with a regimen I could continue for a longer period of time.  I began looking around and came across Jillian’s 30-Day Shred.   As I researched, I found these workouts were split up into 3 different levels of difficulty with intervals of 3-2-1(explain that in a second) in each workout.  On top of it all, each workout was only 20 minutes! (Insanity ranged from about 40 min.-60min.)  Each workout consists of three circuits, each of which contain the 3-2-1 intervals I mentioned.  “3-2-1” stands for: 3 minutes of resistance training, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs. I purchased the DVD and started the shred.  I’ve been doing it for about 8 months now and am so pleased with the results.  I have kept the strength and speed I gained through Insanity, as well as continuing to get more tone.  For me, this is the perfect balance between regularly challenging myself in my workouts, maintaining a new level of fitness, while still being a regimen I can live with!  What about you?  Have you tried Jillian’s 30 Day Shred?  Do you have a recommendation? What is your fitness goal?

4 thoughts on “30 Day Shred vs. Insanity

  1. After your post, I ordered the 30 day shred and received it today. I just did the 1st 20 minute workout ….. and I am WHIPPED! lol I thought it wouldn’t be that bad since I already do the elliptical machine and run but boy was I wrong. I do know though with the intensity of this workout I will strengthen and tone fast. This is what I needed all along. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • I hear you, Lori! Thank you for letting me know, I’m so glad the information was helpful! I’d also like to add that after eight months on the shred, I still find it varied enough with the 3 different workouts that I don’t get too bored with it. Keep up the good work!

  2. Well I have started week 2 of the the Shred DVD and I can honestly say, I already feel my body getting stronger! I just LOVE the fact these are only 20 minute workouts and on top of that you can actually see and feel the results! Thanks again for sharing! 🙂

    Lori

    • Way to go, girl! I hear ya! This is the only regimen I’ve done for this long of a period of time that I still feel challenged and continue to feel like I’m gaining strength, tone, etc. Love hearing about your experience with it! Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

